Stewardship of WhitewaterBanner

The Whitewater Community Foundation, founded in 1995 to enhance the quality of life in the Whitewater area via educational, cultural, charitable or benevolent expenditures, is pleased to announce it has assumed stewardship of in partnership with Dustin Reichwald, the current editor-in-chief of the Banner. Dustin Reichwald stated “By joining with the Whitewater Community Foundation, we can be assured that the Whitewater Banner will remain a true community asset and receive the support necessary to continually improve its ability to deliver news and engagement for the community of Whitewater.”

“The Banner is Whitewater’s best source for news and events,” said Foundation board member Thayer Coburn. “The Foundation is excited to continue Jim Stewart’s vision of an impartial and unbiased source of information for our entire community.”

Recently the foundation has funded many other programs through Community Action Grants, providing money to Whitewater area organizations supporting a wide variety of cultural, civic, and wellness initiatives. In their first year, the foundation awarded $16,800 in grants. One recipient, Downtown Whitewater, Inc., used their Community Action Grant to bring live music to the Whitewater City Market, a vibrant weekly community gathering featuring area farmers and local businesses. Other grant recipients supplied books to children from low-income families, funded a technology initiative at a local elementary school, provided needed medication for community members, and offered dementia education for local seniors.

The Whitewater Banner will continue to provide advertising/sponsorship space for local businesses and will be reaching out to continue these efforts. A portion of the funds from advertising and sponsorship will be earmarked for a Whitewater Banner Scholarship in honor of Jim Stewart, the founder of the Banner. The remainder of the funds will be utilized for the maintenance of the Banner website, and the continued efforts in achieving the Whitewater Community Foundation’s mission work.

The Whitewater Community Foundation, which is a 501(c)(3) organization, invites community members and businesses to join them by investing in Whitewater. Current board members include Danielle Frawley, president, Kevin Brunner, past-president, Mark Dorn, vice president, David Yochum, secretary, Geoff Hale, treasurer, Julie Caldwell, Thayer Coburn, Mark Elworthy, Rick Fassl, Ron Jongetes, Therese Kennedy, Sonia Sotos, Hector Villareal, and Kristine Zaballos.

To donate and support the continuation of the Whitewater Banner, simply send a check made out to Whitewater Community Foundation to P.O. Box 428, Whitewater, WI, 53190, or donate online at by hitting the “Donate” button on top of the contact page. For tax purposes, the Whitewater Community Foundation is a 501(c)(3) Corporation. The foundation asks permission to announce your generous donation in future our annual reports. If you prefer to remain anonymous, please state your preference with the donation.

For more information, contact